top of page

Improving my movement

Updated: Jun 25





The usual recommendation for moving around the table is small both-foot side steps (frog jumps). Therefore, I tried this, but given my weight and tendency to injury, the result was a swollen left ankle. This failed experience forced me to halt this route and start developing a way of playing which would need minimum movements. The system I have developed is based on three principles:


1.      Standing slightly more central and almost parallel to the table as my recovery stance (B/H stance)

2.      Moving forward/sideways almost exclusively with my left foot, while my right foot is stationery. It might seem counter-intuitive to move forward when you need to produce more space for your forehand. But as illustrated in the image above, interestingly, this move would relocate my hitting zone backward with a bigger reach on the F/H side, without moving towards the F/H or going back away from the table.

3.      Utilising chop-block more for returning wide shots to my B/H

33 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page